New Jersey can suspend your driver’s license for a number of reasons. You may be convicted of breaking a law such as driving under the influence (DUI) , too many points on your driver’s record or reckless driving. The state may also suspend your license if you fail to meet a legal obligation, such as:

  • Failure to pay motor vehicle surcharges
  • Failure to appear in court
  • Failure to pay fines
  • Failure to show proof of insurance
  • Failure to respond to a notice given to you by the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC)

You have legal options you can pursue before MVC suspends your driving privileges. Your suspension starts when you receive your notice from the Motor Vehicle Commission in the mail. To understand all of the options available to you, talk to an experienced attorney at Fontanella, Benevento, Galluccio & Smith. We are dedicated to assisting you with your driver’s license suspension.

License Restoration in NJ

New Jersey issues conditional or restricted licenses while you have a suspended license. This means you have to complete the suspension period without driving a vehicle. If you are caught operating a vehicle, you could face another license suspension and jail time. Reinstating your driving privileges requires a step-by-step process depending on why your license was suspended. Here are some common offenses with required steps to take:

DUI with a Blood Alcohol Count Greater Than 0.10 Percent

  • Serve your complete suspension
  • Complete your jail sentence (if any)
  • Complete your participation in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Wait for your Notice of Restoration in the mail
  • Pay the restoration fee of $100
  • Complete your standard driver’s license renewal process

Suspension Due to More Than 12 Points on Your Driving Record

  • Complete your suspension
  • Complete Driver Improvement Program
  • Pay any and all outstanding tickets
  • Wait for your Notice of Restoration to come in the mail
  • Pay the restoration fee of $100
  • Complete the standard license renewal procedures

Any Mental or Physical Condition

In New Jersey your license can be suspend if you have a mental or physical condition. Each case is handled individually by the MVC. To reinstate your license you must contact the Medical Review Unit. If the unit clears your suspension, you must pay the $100 restoration fee and complete the standard license renewal procedures.

With any license suspension, license restoration depends nizagara on the underlying reasons your license was suspended. The lawyers at Fontanella, Benevento, Galluccio & Smith are committed to assisting you with a license suspension and license restoration.